

MEDIA RELEASE

27 November 2023

New President of ITS Australia Board elected

Ms. Silje Troseth from Q-Free Australia becomes the inaugural female President of ITS Australia. Her election took place following the association's Annual General Meeting on Thursday, November 23, marking a significant milestone in the organisation's history.

Ms Troseth, who has been a board director since 2018 is the Vice President APAC and General Manager Australia at Q-Free ASA. She replaces outgoing President Mr Dean Zabrieszach following the conclusion of his 6-year term. Mr Zabrieszach will remain on the ITS Australia Board. Two new board members were elected at the AGM, following strong competition from participating members, with nine candidates nominated for the seven vacancies.

For the first time, two board members were voted in as co-vice-presidents, with Jeremy Nassau from Transurban joining Dennis Walsh from the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads who was re-elected to the role.

ITS Australia congratulates the elected board members:

- Mr Scott Benjamin WSP
- Ms Segolene Deeley Keolis Downer
- Mr Richard Delplace Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI)
- Ms Rita Excell Amazon Web Services (AWS)
- Mr Fred Kalt Yunex Traffic
- Mr Andrew Paynter Transmax Pty Ltd
- Mr Dennis Walsh (Vice-President) Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads They will join ongoing members of the Board:
- Ms Silje Troseth Q-Free Australia (President)
- Mr Lewis Clark Transport for NSW
- Prof Fang Chen UTS Sydney
- Mr Scott Fennelly Main Roads Western Australia
- Mr Jeremy Nassau Transurban
- Ms Catherine Rooney Department of Transport Victoria
- Prof Majid Sarvi The University of Melbourne
- Mr Dean Zabrieszach HMI Technologies

"I am honoured to take on the opportunity of leading this esteemed board of industry colleagues. I aim to cultivate an environment where our diverse perspectives flourish, ideas thrive, and



collaboration guides everything we do, during a period of great opportunity for the intelligent transport sector in Australia," said Ms Silje Troseth.

"I'd also like to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of outgoing President Dean Zabrieszach, who has guided the board through the extraordinary challenges of the last few years, supporting the remarkable achievements of the organisation during this period. I extend my gratitude to Dean for his dedication and wisdom and I look forward to building on his legacy and steering the board to more great accomplishments."

Ms Troseth recognised the contribution of outgoing board members; Kim Thomas, Integrate and Brian Negus, CICA Group, who leaves the Board after an extraordinary 16-year contribution.

"I pay special tribute to Brian Negus for his contribution to the ITS Australia board as a Past President and significantly, in chairing the committee for the very successful ITS World Congress in Melbourne in 2016 – an event that has left a lasting legacy on Australia's ITS sector.

She also acknowledged the contribution of directors who resigned during the year due to changes in circumstance: Mr Robert Langridge, Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries and Mr Simon McLevie, Cubic Transportation Systems.

Silje Troseth also welcomed Ms Rita Excell – Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Mr Scott Benjamin – WSP as the newest elected members of the board.

ITS Australia CEO Susan Harris also recognised the significant new appointments.

"I welcome the elevation of Jeremy Nassau from Transurban to Vice-President, where he will work alongside continuing VP, Dennis Walsh from the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads. These appointments send a strong message about our sector's commitment to industry and government working collaboratively to deliver ITS solutions for Australia," said Ms Harris.

"I also congratulate our two newest board members, Rita Excell from AWS, and Scott Bejamin from WSP. Both Rita and Scott are leaders of industry and will bring outstanding and fresh perspectives to the ITS Australia Board. Their election further represents the diversity of the business community that contributes to the very broad intelligent transport sector."

MEDIA CONTACT

Anthony Smeaton Communications Manager, ITS Australia +61 404 544 101 anthony.smeaton@its-australia.com.au

Download attached image

Caption: Left – Susan Harris, CEO, ITS Australia; Right – Silje Troseth, President, ITS Australia.